Contracts Finder · Historical
Facilities Management for the Sugden Sport Centre
Historical: no longer open for bids.
01/ The notice
Key facts
- Value
- Not statedValue not stated in source
- Deadline (UK time)
- Fri 1 Nov 2024, 12:00 GMTA deadline does not apply to this historical notice. The source records Fri 1 Nov 2024, 12:00 GMT, which is not an open deadline.
- Published
- 1 Oct 2024
- Region
- Any region
02/ The brief
What the notice says
Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.
2. Background to the Requirement
2.1 The Sugden Sports Centre is jointly owned by the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University with the ambition to provide excellent sporting facilities to its students, staff and the local community.
2.2 The Centre is located at 114 Grosvenor Street, just off Oxford Road, at the heart of the Manchester student population. The combined population of the two Universities is some 70,000 people (staff and students). Plans of the building are provided in Appendix 6.
2.3 The Centre comprises the following facilities:
o 100+ station fitness suite
o Group exercise studio
o Dedicated spin studio
o 2x 8 Badminton court sports halls
o 6x Squash courts
o 1x Personal training room (for sole use by the university sport departments, however the room to be serviced (ie, cleaned and maintained by third party)
o 1x outdoor 3G five a side football area
o 1x Physio Room - a purpose built clinical space bookable by users with the appropriate qualifications. It will remain the responsibility of the Service Provider to maintain these spaces.
2.4 The programming of the Centre provides predominantly for the needs of university sport through the provision of casual use, exercise and fitness classes, student sports clubs, participation programmes, health and fitness provision and staff activities. There is also some limited community usage and potential exists to extend this during student vacation periods. The centre is used for various external events.
2.5 In university term time there is an extensive programme which prioritises club and student participation use. This programme is developed and agreed by the universities. This impacts heavily on sports hall and 3G in particular and to a lesser extent in the Activity rooms and squash courts. An example facility timetable is included in Appendix 9.
2.6 Opening Times
The Centre is currently open at the following times on a year-round basis.
Monday to Friday 7.00am to 10.30pm
Saturday and Sunday 9.00am to 7.00pm
Agreement on closure at Christmas and on bank holidays will be agreed on an annual basis between the Contractor and the Universities.
3. Shared Vision for the operation of the Sugden Sports Centre
3.1 The Head of Sport at University of Manchester and the Strategic Lead for Sport at Manchester Metropolitan University have developed a shared vision for the Sugden Sports Centre:
'A state-of-the-art sports facility catering for staff and students of both universities, which can maximise community and corporate opportunities, whilst supporting a full range of programmes from health & wellbeing to sporting excellence and is regarded as a significant sporting facility within the city.'
3.2 It is expected that the successful service provider demonstrates a commitment and understanding to the delivery of this vision, w...
03/ Classification
CPV codes
Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.
- 70332200 92600000 70330000
- 70000000 70300000 70330000 70332000 92000000
04/ History
Releases of this notice
One release held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.
- 1 Oct 2024Contract notice
Contract notice published 1 October 2024.
Release 3b2587aa-9f93-4857-b2bf-85ead153e832
View this release on Contracts Finder (opens in a new tab)
05/ Limits
What the source does not tell us
- The source does not state a usable value.
- Only one release is held, so there is no change history.
06/ Questions
About this notice
07/ Related
Where to go next
These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.
- Reference
- 3b2587aa-9f93-4857-b2bf-85ead153e832
- Source
- Contracts Finder
- Stage
- contract · Contract
- Last verified
- Sat 4 Apr 2026, 15:36 BST
- Read at
- Sat 17 Oct 2026, 01:22 BST
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.
Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.