Find a Tender · Forecast
Frankwell Bridge: Design and Build Step-free Ramp incl. Flood Defence Works
Forecast: a planned procurement that is not yet at tender stage.
01/ The notice
Key facts
- Value
- Not statedValue not stated in source
- Deadline (UK time)
- No open deadlineA deadline does not apply to this forecast notice.
- Published
- 22 Sep 2026
- Region
- Not stated
02/ The brief
What the notice says
Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.
Shropshire Council, working with the Environment Agency, is undertaking preliminary market engagement for the supply and installation of permanent flood defences and a step-free access ramp at the northern approach to Frankwell pedestrian bridge, adjacent to the Guildhall, Shrewsbury. Two options are under consideration: Option 1, integrated permanent flood defences including glazed panels, with a step-free ramp landing on the dry side of the defences; and Option 2, a step-free ramp over the existing stepped ramp, landing on the wet side of the existing demountable flood defences. Associated works include foundations, drainage, surfacing, tie-ins to the existing bridge, public realm interfaces and support with statutory approvals, including planning permission in a conservation area and a Flood Risk Activity Permit.
The Council wants the market to identify which option is the best solution and whether it can be delivered ahead of the flood season commencing September 2027. Suppliers will be asked which option they recommend and why; whether they can deliver both options; whether they can deliver the proposed solution and also source and install the flood defence barriers, and which barrier solution they would recommend; an indicative cost band for their proposed solution; their delivery model (direct delivery, subcontracting or supply chain); and the key risks they foresee.
Project progression is subject to a funding application, which feedback from this engagement will directly support. This notice is not a call for competition and the Council is not committed to proceeding with a procurement. Any subsequent procurement would be advertised on the Find a Tender service.
03/ Classification
CPV codes
Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.
- 34953300
- 44212120
- 45221110
- 45221113
- 45221119
- 45233260
- 45233261
04/ History
Releases of this notice
2 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.
- 10 Sep 2026Planning notice
Planning notice published 10 September 2026.
Release 086056-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 22 Sep 2026Planning notice update
Planning notice update published 22 September 2026. Stated change: Broken link fixed to the MS Forms
Release 089706-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
05/ Limits
What the source does not tell us
- The source does not state a usable value.
06/ Questions
About this notice
07/ Related
Where to go next
These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.
- Reference
- ocds-h6vhtk-06f73c
- Source
- Find a Tender
- Stage
- planning · planning
- Last verified
- Tue 29 Sep 2026, 08:14 BST
- Read at
- Sun 18 Oct 2026, 11:54 BST
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.
Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.