Find a Tender · Historical
Design for Longevity- Electrolyser Prototype Design
Historical: no longer open for bids.
01/ The notice
Key facts
- Value
- Not statedValue not stated in source
- Deadline (UK time)
- No open deadlineA deadline does not apply to this historical notice.
- Published
- 15 Sep 2026
- Region
- Not stated
02/ The brief
What the notice says
Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.
The STEP Fuel Cycle is the subsystem responsible for recovering, purifying and supplying tritium to the STEP fusion reactor. Tritium is present in a variety of forms, phases and compositions, including tritiated water. Vapour-phase electrolysis techniques such as solid-oxide electrolysis have been identified as a suitable technique for processing small quantities of tritiated water. The scope is to deliver the conceptual design of an electrolyser system (electrochemical cell or stack). This includes, but is not limited to, components of the electrolyser: electrolytes, electrodes, interconnects, separators, electrical connections, vessels, structural components, seals, gaskets, heating elements, inlet/outlet pipes, ports, flanges and instrumentation. The scope does not include conceptual design of ‘Balance of Plant’ equipment such as power supplies, pumps, purification stages, boilers, compressors or dehumidifiers. However, the impact on balance of plant equipment must be considered in design decisions for the electrolyser itself.
The scope is structured into three sequential phases with interim milestones. These phases will progressively develop technical understanding, validate assumptions, and converge on agreed technical content.
03/ Classification
CPV codes
Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.
- 71300000
- 73100000
- 73120000
04/ History
Releases of this notice
3 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.
- 17 Jul 2026Tender notice (UK4)
Tender notice (UK4) published 17 July 2026.
Deadline in this release: Fri 14 Aug 2026, 12:00 BST.
Release 067695-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 15 Sep 2026Notice
Notice published 15 September 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.
Release 087181-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 15 Sep 2026Notice
Notice published 15 September 2026. The source does not state what changed.
Release 087220-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
05/ Limits
What the source does not tell us
- The source does not state a usable value.
06/ Questions
About this notice
08/ Related
Where to go next
These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.
- Reference
- ocds-h6vhtk-06cdb2
- Source
- Find a Tender
- Stage
- award · Awarded
- Last verified
- Tue 22 Sep 2026, 08:16 BST
- Read at
- Thu 22 Oct 2026, 22:16 BST
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.
Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.