Find a Tender · Historical
Merchant Acquiring Services
Historical: no longer open for bids.
01/ The notice
Key facts
- Value
- Not statedValue not stated in source
- Deadline (UK time)
- No open deadlineA deadline does not apply to this historical notice.
- Published
- 1 Oct 2026
- Region
- Not stated
02/ The brief
What the notice says
Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.
Merchant Acquiring is an essential contract from a financial perspective as it is necessary to enable residents and customers to pay the council by debit and credit card, over £100m a year is collected by the council using this contract.
This service is a key part of the council's support systems, and essential for the council to be able to collect payments by card as people expect in 2026.
The contract helps enable the goals set out in the Customer Access Strategy to strive to make the online customer journey accessible, user-friendly and straightforward, as customers expect to be able to pay for services online using their cards.
Direct award justification
This is a complex contract to re-procure, involving both a complex, technical procurement, and multiple council departments with differing specifications. If awarded to a different supplier then there is significant work to transition several of the council's financial systems to use the new supplier which would not be possible for technical and operational reasons before the existing contract expires. The Council cannot risk the disruption to this service as this would impact income collection via e-commerce, online or telephone payments from residents and customers.
Therefore, Officers intend to use this time in an effective way to plan a new procurement exercise and procure compliantly a suitably experienced supplier to deliver and support the transition to a possible new supplier of merchant acquiring services.
The Contract is above the applicable threshold for services under the Procurement Act 2023. Officers propose to rely on paragraph 13 of Schedule 5 to the Procurement Act 2023, concerning extreme and unavoidable urgency, as the legal basis for the direct award.
Officers consider that the direct award is strictly necessary to maintain an essential income-collection service and that a competitive procurement procedure cannot be completed within the time available before the current arrangements expire.
The direct award is limited to a period of up to 18 months. Officers intend to use that period to undertake a compliant procurement exercise and to plan and implement any necessary transition to a future provider.
Please see following report of the decision. https://democracy.brent.gov.uk/documents/s159372/Officer Key Decision Report.pdf
Description of risks to contract performance
The contracting authority reserves the right to modify the contract in reliance on Schedule 8 paragraph 8 of the Procurement Act 2023 where the contracting authority requires a modification for additional goods, services or works has arisen in addition to those already provided for in the contract; and using a different supplier would result in the supply of goods, services or works that are different from, or incompatible with, those already provided for in the contract; and the contracting authority considers that this would result in disproportionate technical difficulties in operation or maintenance or other significant inconvenience and the substantial duplication of costs for the authority.
03/ Classification
CPV codes
Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.
- 66172000
04/ History
Releases of this notice
4 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.
- 11 Sep 2026Notice
Notice published 11 September 2026.
Release 086649-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 1 Oct 2026Notice
Notice published 1 October 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.
Release 092858-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 1 Oct 2026Notice
Notice published 1 October 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.
Release 092900-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab) - 1 Oct 2026Notice
Notice published 1 October 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.
Release 092942-2026
View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
05/ Limits
What the source does not tell us
- The source does not state a usable value.
06/ Questions
About this notice
07/ Tender hubs
More banking services tenders like this
This notice is closed and kept here as a record. These pages list the live notices in the same subject, buyer or place. Chosen by the notice’s current recorded classification or a fixed rule on its title, buyer and region.
- More banking services tenders
- More finance tenders
- More financial services tenders
- More local government tenders
- More council tenders
- More London tenders
Open now in Banking services tenders
- Provision of Fuel Card SolutionTogether Housing Association Limited · Published 12 Oct 2026Together Housing Association Limited and its subsidiary organisations is looking for a single Tenderer to be appointed to provide a Fuel Card Solution. The primary objective of this contract is to procure and implement a fuel card solution that supports the safe, compliant, and efficient operation oValue not stated in sourceCloses Fri 6 Nov 2026, 23:59 GMT
- Provision of Banking & Merchant ServicesSouth Ayrshire Council · Published 14 Oct 2026South Ayrshire Council (the Council) has a requirement to establish a contract for the delivery of Banking Services and Merchant Services via two (2) lots. Lot 1 – Banking Services. The provision of day-to-day banking services, including bank accounts, cash management, liquidity management, paymentValue not stated in sourceCloses Thu 26 Nov 2026, 12:00 GMT
- Electronic Payments and Associated ServicesProcurement Assist Limited c/o Integrated Facilities Management Bolton Ltd (iFM Bolton) · Published 10 Jan 2025PA invites organisations to participate in a 60-month DPS for the provision of Electronic Payments and Associated Services. The DPS will be accessible by all current and future members of PA. The DPS may be used by all NHS Trusts, Social Housing Providers, Local Authorities, Blue Light Services, Ed£75,000,000Estimated value stated in the noticeCloses Thu 31 May 2029, 17:00 BST
08/ Related
Where to go next
These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.
- Reference
- ocds-h6vhtk-06f8a4
- Source
- Find a Tender
- Stage
- award · Awarded
- Last verified
- Thu 8 Oct 2026, 08:15 BST
- Read at
- Thu 29 Oct 2026, 19:18 GMT
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.
Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.