Skip to main content

Find a Tender · Historical

Kent County Council

Local Highway Maintenance Support Contract

Historical · AwardedNo open deadline

Historical: no longer open for bids.

01/ The notice

Key facts

Value
Not statedValue not stated in source
Deadline (UK time)
No open deadlineA deadline does not apply to this historical notice.
Published
10 Apr 2026
Region
Not stated

02/ The brief

What the notice says

Not fully read: this is the notice text; attached documents are not read.

Kent County Council (KCC), as the upper‑tier authority, is the Highway Authority for highways maintainable at public expense and has a statutory duty to maintain the highways and their assets in accordance with Section 41 of the Highways Act 1980. This duty includes responsibility for maintaining, managing and, where necessary, improving sections of the network and ensuring the highways are safe for the travelling public. To meet and deliver these statutory obligations, KCC requires competent contractors, as there is no internal resource available to undertake this work.

There are approximately 5,445 miles of local roads in Kent (616 miles of A roads, 279 miles of B roads, 1,172 miles of C roads and 3,378 miles of unclassified roads), making it one of the largest and most heavily trafficked local authority networks in the country.

The Local Highways Maintenance Support Contracts augment the delivery of highway maintenance services directly at a local level for the residents and businesses of Kent. The works undertaken as part of these contracts are managed by the local Highway Managers and their teams, ensuring budgets are used appropriately to repair and prevent potholes and improve highway condition at targeted locations.

The core services included in these contracts relate to the delivery of pothole repairs, small‑ to medium‑sized patching repairs, and small‑scale resurfacing and associated works. They also support resources that can be utilised during emergency and severe weather events where necessary.

Works orders under this contract are raised by KCC Highway staff. The works consist of small and medium patching, generally within the carriageway, with occasional small areas of footway patching as required. Pre‑site inspections will be undertaken jointly between KCC and the Contractor, where necessary, to minimise any issues that may prevent the works from being carried out. Other in scope activities and civil engineering works will also be undertaken as required.

The Contractor will deliver a programme of works over a 6‑ to 8‑month period, usually between April and October, when weather and road temperatures are optimal for highway repairs. Works may, however, be required outside of these times where necessary.

The Contractor will provide sufficient resources to ensure minimal deviation from projected timescales. Operatives must be fully trained, possess the required qualifications and expertise to deliver the works, and must take before‑ and after‑photographs at each site.

The key aim of these contracts is to deliver a permanent, high‑quality, first‑time repair, including adjusting ironworks and reinstating all white lining.

The Contractor is responsible for managing all aspects of traffic management in accordance with the Code of Practice for Safety at Street Works and Road Works and the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991.

The service has been divided into six geographical areas, each of which has been awarded a separate contract.

The contracts have an initial term of three years, with the option to extend for a further two years. The initial contract period runs from 08 April 2026 to 07 April 2029. The optional extension period runs from 08 April 2029 to 07 April 2031. The extension may be applied in a variety of increments up to a maximum of two years.

These contracts are zero‑value arrangements, as no work is guaranteed under the contract. However, the contracts have a maximum combined contract value of £100,000,000, equating to approximately £16,666,666.67 per lot over the full duration of the contract, including any extension periods.

03/ Classification

CPV codes

Common Procurement Vocabulary codes, exactly as the notice lists them. No descriptions are added here.

  • 50230000
  • 45000000

04/ History

Releases of this notice

2 releases held, oldest first. Dates are UK time.

  1. 11 Apr 2025
    Tender notice

    Tender notice published 11 April 2025.

    Deadline in this release: Sat 12 Apr 2025, 00:05 BST.

    Release 014784-2025

    View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)
  2. 10 Apr 2026
    Award notice

    Award notice published 10 April 2026. The notice text changed; the source gives no change note.

    Release 032962-2026

    View this release on Find a Tender (opens in a new tab)

05/ Limits

What the source does not tell us

  • The source does not state a usable value.

06/ Questions

About this notice

Kent County Council published this notice.

Value not stated in source.

07/ Tender hubs

More highway maintenance tenders like this

This notice is closed and kept here as a record. These pages list the live notices in the same subject, buyer or place. Chosen by the notice’s current recorded classification or a fixed rule on its title, buyer and region.

Open now in Highway maintenance tenders

08/ Related

Where to go next

These links follow a fixed rule applied to this notice’s buyer, text and CPV codes. They are not advice on whether to bid.

Reference
ocds-h6vhtk-0501fc
Source
Find a Tender
Stage
award · Awarded
Last verified
Fri 17 Apr 2026, 08:09 BST
Read at
Wed 28 Oct 2026, 17:37 GMT

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source data © Crown copyright.

RFP Quest logo

Built on published notices from Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.

15 minutes · RFP Quest

Book a Demo